DON’T Tweet like Trump.

I’m cautioning a local politician who apes The Donald’s Twitter style not to.
And – because radio talent is, effectively, “running for election” non-stop – you shouldn’t either.

4 reasons why:

  • Relentless negativity gets old quickly. We all know, and seek to avoid, someone whose glass is ALWAYS half-empty. Don’t be her.
  • Bellicose braggadocio gets old even quicker. And “I,” “I,” “I,” “me,” “me,” “me” validates two unfortunate caricatures (politicians and radio people).
  • The politician I’m warning is a grandmother; and might reckon that crabby demographic cohorts are heavy voters, which they are. But on Twitter, 70-somethings are WAY-outnumbered by younger users. Millennials are repelled by acrimony and seek consensus.
  • Once it’s out there, you can’t take it back…even if you delete-the-Tweet. For several years, The Library of Congress has archived all Tweets. And those who don’t wish you well may have saved what you uttered…something politicians learn the hard way when their words show up on opponents’ campaign commercials. And we’ve all read radio trade press reports of DJs and talkers who’ve been fired for Social Media faux pas.
Surprised that a consultant would recommend-against a success template like The Donald? He’s him, you’re not. Ditto much-imitated Rush Limbaugh. To quote Oscar Wilde: “Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken.”

2 responses to “DON’T Tweet like Trump.

  1. I wish what you say were true, but all around I see evidence to the contrary. It’s not just Trump and Rush who go negative and still hold their audience. It’s the whole right-wing media model: Hannity, O’Reilly, Savage, Levin, etc. Commentators often criticize negative radio and TV ads but they keep running because they work. Witness the anti-Pelosi ad campaign unleashed in the recent Georgia election.

  2. Barbara Brennan

    Why are there so many more men in radio vs.women. ? I did a radio internship in college and then produced and hosted my own radio interview show on a campus station till some jealous woman sabotaged my day job.
    I struggled finding my niche but found my divorced status created a multitude of problems. I could tell you about a radio personality who put a dent in my life.
    Btw Limbaugh quit. Had tons of good ole boys pushing him back in.

Leave a Reply

